SEG Council

The SEG Council represents the Sections, Associated Societies, and Technical Sections of SEG and serves as advisors to the SEG Board of Directors. View current members

2018 Council Chair Nominees

The following Council members have agreed to be candidates for the 2018 Chair of the Council election:

Only current Council members are eligible to vote in the Chair of the Council election. The election will be conducted electronically and voting information will be e-mailed by SEG to Council members on 1 June 2018. Voting will close on 30 June 2018.

The newly elected Chair of the Council will assume leadership after conclusion of SEG’s 2018 Annual Meeting, which takes place 14-19 October in Anaheim, CA, USA and serves until the SEG Annual Meeting in 2021. Upon election the Chair no longer represents a specific District, Technical Section, or Section/Associated Society. The representative for the affected District, Technical Section, or Section/Associated Society will be replaced in accordance with the Bylaws of the SEG.

Duties of the Chair of the Council

  • The Chair of the Council will serve as a full voting member of the SEG Board of Directors.
  • The Chair of the Council will call the Annual Meeting of the Council and conduct business as stipulated in the SEG Bylaws and requested by the SEG Board of Directors.
  • Communication with the Council is a major function of the Chair. It should be open and widely distributed.
  • The Chair is also responsible to communicate back to the Board of Directors on matters of concern to the Council.
  • The Chair will author a message to the Council timed to arrive shortly after each SEG Board meeting or more frequently as appropriate.
  • The Chair will continuously solicit comments and suggestions from the Council at large.
  • If appropriate, the Chair may wish to poll the Council on a given subject but there should sufficient time allotted for discussion prior to the poll.
  • The Chair may choose to appoint ad hoc committees to assist him/her or to perform other functions.
  • The Chair will serve on the Nominating Committee of the SEG.

Members of the 2017-2018 SEG Council

The Council consists of Representatives from each Section, Associated Society, Technical Section, and Geographic District.

Members in good standing are represented on the Council by a Geographic District Representative and may also be represented on the Council by Representatives from a Section, Associated Society, or Technical Section of which the Member is a member. However, each Active Member shall be represented by only one Section, Associated Society, or Technical Section as designated by the member.

The number in brackets indicates the number of representatives each District or Section has been allotted.

Section Representatives

Asociación Argentina de Geólogos y Geofisicos Petroleros [1]

Gustavo Carstens 

Asociación Colombiana de Geólogos y Geofísicos del Petroleo [2]

Elsa Jaimes 

Asociación Mexicana de Geofisicos de Exploracion [1]

Efrain Mendez-Hernandez

Association of Hungarian Geophysicists [1]

Australian SEG [2]

Andrea Rutley
Koya Suto 

Azeri Society of Exploration Geophysicists [1]

Said Sadykhov 

Bahrain Geoscience Society [1]

Bay Area Geophysical Society [1]

Erika Gasperikova 

Billings Geophysical Society [1]

Tom Hewitt 

Canadian Exploration Geophysical Society (KEGS) [1]

Micki Allen 

Canadian SEG [3]

Ron Newman 
John Duhault
Marian Hanna

Chamber of Geophysical Engineers of Turkey [1]

Coastal Bend Geophysical Society [1]

Lonnie Blake 

Dallas Geophysical Society [2]

Ernest Siraki 
Sudarshan Singh 

Denver Geophysical Society [2]

Bruce Karr 
Sue Jackson

Deutsche Geophysikalische Gesellschaft (DGG) [1]

Serge Shapiro 

Dhahran Geoscience Society [1]

Mohammed Alhussain 

Emirates Society of Geoscience [1]

Aldo Vesnaver

Geophysical Society of Alaska [1]

Tiffany Carey 

Geophysical Society of Houston [6]

Sofia Campbell
Haynie Stringer
Amy Rhodes 
Tommie Rape
Maitri Erwin
Mike Graul

Geophysical Society of Kansas [1]

Hendratta Ali

Geophysical Society of Oklahoma City [2]

Kim Guyer
Phillip Hall

Geophysical Society of Pittsburg [1]

Randy Hunt

Geophysical Society of Tulsa [1]

Ray Earley

Italian EAGE-SEG Section [1]

Paolo Mazzucchelli

Jackson Geophysical Society [1]

Karl Kaufmann

Korean Society of Earth and Exploration Geophysicists [1]

Joongmoo Byun

Near-Surface Technical Section [2]

Steve Sloan
Mike Powers

Oslo Society of Exploration Geophysicists [1]

Andreas Wuestefeld

Pacific Coast Section of the SEG [1]

Chuandong (Richard) Xu 

Permian Basin Geophysical Society [1]

Ron Bianco

Petroleum Exploration Society of Great Britain [1]

David Monk

Potomac Geophysical Society [1]

Catherine Enomoto

Romanian Society of Geophysics [1]

Victor Mocanu 

San Antonio Geophysical Society [1]

Jim Major

Scandinavian Visualization Society [1]

Francisco Porturas Garcia 

Sociedad Venezolana de Ingenieros Geofisicos [1]

Sociedade Brasileira de Geofisica [1]

Simplicio Freitas

Society of Exploration Geophysicists of Beijing [1]

Rujie Zhang

Society of Exploration Geophysicists Japan [1]

Koichi Hayashi

Society of Exploration Geophysicists Nigeria [1]

Wole Oyetoran 

SEG Port Harcourt [1]

Edafe Edivri

Society of Exploration Geophysicists Russian Section [1]

Society of Exploration Geophysicists South China Section [1]

Shouli Qu

Society of Exploration Geophysicists Tyumen [1]

Valery Koksharov

Society of Petroleum Geophysicists, India [1]

South African Geophysical Association [1]

Reece Van Buren

Southeastern Geophysical Society [1]

Ellen Clark 

Southwest Louisiana Geophysical Society [1]

Brian Brennan 

Thailand Society of Exploration Geophysicists [1]

Phathompat Boonyasaknanon

Unión Geofísica Mexicana [1]

Rafael Avila Carrera

Uzbekistan Society of Exploration Geophysicists [1]

Vietnam Association of Geophysicists [1]

Bui Cong Que 

District Representatives

Note: Terms of District Representatives end on 31 July of the year indicated in parentheses.


Michael Cogan (2018)
Allen Bertagne (2019)


Gerard Beaudoin (2018)
Dennis Yanchak (2018)


Stewart Levin (2018)
Jonathan Ajo-Franklin (2018)


William Harbert (2018)
Enders Robinson (2019)


Keith Millis (2018)
Jennifer Leslie-Panek (2019)


Jose Arce (2018)
Hector Alfonso (2019)


Colin MacBeth (2018)
Olav Inge Barkved (2018)


Dirk Gajewski (2017)
Sandra Tegtmeier-Last (2018)


Uche Irene Aigbokhai (2019)
Obi Ifeanyichukwu (2019)


Tariq Alkhalifah (2018)
Maria Angela Capello (2018)


Hong Liu (2018)
Jackie Zhang (2019)


Andrew Long (2019)
Kim Frankcombe (2019)

Back to Top


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. If you continue without changing your settings, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy. You can disable cookies at any time. Learn More

8801 S. Yale Ave. Suite 500
Tulsa, OK 74137
Phone: 918-497-5500

CONNECT with us

Don't miss a thing.

Visit your SEG Communications Center here.
(It's free to create an account, and you don't have to be an SEG member.)

Twitter facebook linkedIn instagram google plus youtube